New Orleans

First as an update, I am having my second experience as a summer researcher with the University of Minnesota’s Materials Research Sceicne and Engineering Center. My assigned experiment, which is on electrowetting on an ion gel, is rather fascinating, but it only matters to me in that it will allow me to convey certain concepts to my students as someone who has encountered them first hand.

Also, I have applied to take the online course “A Discourse on Social Action” offered by the LazosLearning Association. I am very excited about and a little intimidated by the possibility of studying its material. It was recommended to me very highly. Although it is not recognized fully by current academia, because of its origins with FUNDAEC, I view it as an essential step in unlocking my capacity to adequately contribute to the field of education. If logistics disallow my participation in the course, I am still thankful to have in my Minneapolis social network several people who are passionate about revolutionizing adolescent or early childhood education with whom I hope to have meaningful dialogue.

Now, to the point of this post. I met with the director of my research program this morning. What a great person! He lit up when I mentioned my aspirations to be an educator, deciding to connect me with professors who may be able to help me in this path. After he heard my hope to work abroad on education-based development in China, Zambia, Colombia or the like, this director began to share about the ineffectiveness of school systems in Louisiana, his home state. He was suggesting that I consider serving as a teacher within the United States.

On my way back to my dorm this evening, I was able to speak with two wonderful people from my program. Both already have valuable experience teaching youth. One of them is from New Orleans and can tell stories about the atrocities from the Hurricane Katrina aftermath. The theme of the conversation though was the need for transformation of the school system. Their anecdotes about scores of people who have fallen through cracks in the boardwalk towards functional and cooperative human development, their sincerity and perseverance – these are inspiring me to spend some time teaching in New Orleans.

For over two years I have felt a pressing need to move to another country after getting my degrees. Although I am still two years from deciding where to move, I am happy to now know of such an important opportunity for service within the country.

2 Responses to “New Orleans”


  1. 1 L July 30, 2008 at 10:06 am

    have you started “Discourse on Social Action” online yet? i’m interested in taking “Conceptual Framework” (I did “Discourse” but not online) and am interested in hearing what it’s like to take it online through LazosLearning. Yours was the only blog I’ve seen that has mentioned it. Just curious, before I actually apply for it. Thanks!

  2. 2 Leif July 30, 2008 at 10:52 am

    Hi L,
    I wound up not being enrolled in the summer course. LazosLearning expects consistent and full participation, and there are a few weeks this summer that would interfere with that for me. I dfefenitely hope to take the course as soon as possible, which will likely be in the spring of ’09 if it is still offered. I’d love to hear about your experience with “Discourse.”


Leave a comment