Next Steps Are Becoming Clearer

The Rutgers Graduate School of Education has allowed me to enter their science education program beginning in the fall. The default is physics certification, but I will aiming for the chemistry requirements of the more general physical science education. As soon as possible, I hope to take A Discourse on Social Action, an online course being offered by FUNDAEC, as a means to a clearer vision of how to best serve community development via education. Even though my subject-matter-focussed adviser does not see the value in it, I am convinced of its importance. It has been recommended by various individuals with seasoned experience in sustainable social and economic development.

If I do not take the course this summer, I will have to wait a while before it will fit. Increased on-campus responsibilities on more than one front, my heaviest course load yet, and a percentage of non-science classes, will make for an intense learning and growth period next semester.

Meanwhile, my Exploring Teaching as a Profession class is rather limited and superficial. Now and then we hear and read great points regarding effective teaching. But every comment and classroom observation is so far removed from implementation that most potential growth remains untapped. I am feeling the need for a tutorial learning system for teacher training, in which accompanied action and reflection are fundamental from the get-go. Most of my classmates were not blessed with exposure such systems. I sometimes worry that too many aspiring teachers might continue to become caught up with and jaded by the state tests or low wages before fixing their vision on what education can be.

0 Responses to “Next Steps Are Becoming Clearer”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment